Three Long-time IPC Volunteers Receive Dieter Bergman IPC Fellowship Award

Three IPC volunteers who have fostered a collaborative spirit, made significant contributions to standards development, and have consistently demonstrated a commitment to global standardization efforts, were presented with Dieter Bergman IPC Fellowship awards at IPC APEX EXPO 2022. Bev Christian, Doug Pauls, and Jose Servin were chosen as award recipients because they embody the work ethic and spirit of the late Dieter Bergman, a pioneer and industry icon. They will bestow Dieter Bergman Memorial Scholarship awards on the university or college of their choice.                  

Bev Christian, Ph.D., a facilitator for the High-Density Packaging User Group and Adjunct Professor at the University of Waterloo, Canada, has participated in IPC APEX EXPO since its inception. A member of 27 committees, including co-chair of the 2021-2022 Technical Program Committee, Bev serves as chair of the 3-11G and 5-24B task groups. An author of more than fifty published papers, Christian chose the Chemistry Department at the University of New Brunswick, Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada, as the scholarship recipient.

Doug Pauls, a dedicated volunteer at IPC, was awarded the IPC Hall of Fame in 2017. A principal materials and process engineer at Collins Aerospace and former chair of several IPC committees, Pauls is known for his expertise in surface insulation resistance testing, cleaning and cleanliness assessment, conformal coatings, and how to investigate and qualify manufacturing processes. He recently led the team that redefined the cleanliness provisions of IPC J-STD-001, culminating in what is presently J-STD-001G, Amendment 1. Pauls’ school of choice for the Dieter Bergman scholarship is the Materials and Science Engineering (MSE) department at Iowa State University in Ames, Iowa.

Jose Servin Olivares is a level three senior process engineer at Vitesco in Mexico who specializes in electronics assemblies in SMT, BE, and electronics component manufacturing. A member of the IPC-A-610 and J-STD-001 working groups and former chair of the IPC-A-610G and J-STD-001G Automotive Addendums, he worked closely with the committees to address criteria and acceptability requirements for printed board assemblies for the automotive industry not covered in IPC-A-610G and J-STD-001G. Servin Olivares chose a branch of the Morelos State University in Mexico as the recipient of the Dieter Bergman award – Yecapixtla School of Higher Studies of Morelos State University.

“The recipients of this year’s Dieter Bergman Fellowship award have devoted years to IPC standards development, and we are fortunate to be the recipients of their considerable talent and expertise,” said John W. Mitchell, IPC president and CEO. “We are glad to be able to honor their volunteerism and assist future engineers with this award.”