Automotive Leadership Growing in Electronics

Of 12 honorees celebrated at the Annual Meeting and Awards Ceremony at IPC APEX EXPO this year, one third represent the automotive industry, reflective of the growing importance of high reliability in automotive electronics. Peter Tranitz, Continental Automotive, and Jan Pedersen, Elmatica, both received the Dieter Berman IPC Fellowship Award for significant contributions to global standards development efforts; Tranitz for his leadership and participation in and Pedersen for initiating and leading automotive focused standards projects in Europe. Benoit Dagenais, Innovative Vehicle Institute, received the Rising Star Award for contributions as co-chair leading the IPC WHMA-A-620 High-Voltage Cable Task Group developing IPC-9791, Electric Mobility Cable and Interconnects -- Visual Acceptability and Process Requirements.

General Motors China was honored with the Stan Plzak Corporate Recognition award, recognizing their contributions to the electronics assembly industry and support of IPC through participation in technical programs and in their own supplier standards. The leaders that earned these awards build on the work of other companies representing automotive needs in IPC standards development and education, such as Udo Welzel; Robert Bosch GmbH; Gaston Hidalgo, Toyota Motor North America; Continental Automotive, who were award recipients in 2020; long-time contributors John Deere Electronic Solutions and newer contributors like Ford. In addition, the technical conference sessions and professional development courses featured key automotive leaders like Jose Servin, Vitesco; Stan Rak, Continental Automotive Systems; Udo Welzel, Robert Bosch GmbH; and Lenora Clark, ESI Automotive.

For information on automotive standards under development, visit